Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday (10)

top ten tuesday 1

Top Ten Tuesday is a Weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, where each week a topic is given and we have to reply with ten answers.

This Week’s Question: Top Ten Covers I Wish I Could Redesign

This is a really hard one as most of the books i pick up have pretty covers and those that don’t have already been re-designed!

So i’m going to change the title slightly to: Top Ten Covers I Don’t Understand Why They Redesigned

The Old covers will be on the left and redesigned on the right

If it’s a series i’ve just included the first book.

10. Night School by C.J. Daugherty

night school old night school

I mean it’s so pretty, why change it? Especially to that cover, the new one doesn’t do anything for me, i would be much more likely to pick up the original than new.

9. Slated by Teri Terry

slated old slated

Obviously these covers are very similar and feature the same picture, however i much prefer the layout of the first and it definitely makes me more curious than the newer one. It seems like it’s just taking the trend of adding a city to the cover and i don’t really see the need for it.

8. Switched by Amanda Hocking

switched old switched

I love the original cover it so inviting and definitely something i would want to pick up, whereas the new cover just seems like a typical romance cover or something and nothing particularly special.

7. Sisters Red by Jackson Pearce

sisters red old sisters red

This one makes no sense to me, why slightly change the cover in this way? Especially since they’ve just darkened the red to the point you can’t really see it, i mean read the title? It says RED, it just doesn’t make sense to me.

6. Blue Bloods by Melissa de la Cruz

blue bloods old blue bloods

Whereas this book doesn’t hold my attention like it used to, i still love the original cover, the bite marks indented into the page made me pick up this book and i do honestly believe the original cover is better.

5. Uglies by Scott Westerfeld

uglies old uglies 1 uglies

I mean what? I love the original cover and both of the 2 ‘new’ covers just don’t compare, i can kind of understand the one with the sheet over her face, however the original is definitely still best!

4. Divergent by Veronica Ross

divergent old DIVERGENT_B_Format_UK.indd

I love the first covers, they represent the factions and just look so pretty and it really stood out to me as a cover. Whereas the redesign is just meh. nothing particularly special. I don’t understand the change and much preferred the earlier covers!

3. Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

vampire academy old vampire academy

I love this series but hate how it looks in my bookshelf, i have a mixture of paperbacks and hardbacks of the original covers for the first four books, however when i bought both 5&6 the only cover available at the time was the red one, and i like my series to match up. Not change covers in the middle of a series, especially when there’s nothing wrong with the originals! I don’t mind the new covers, but prefer the old and it makes my bookshelf look funny 😦

2. Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder

poison study old poison study

There have been three or four different covers for these books but it’s these 2 that i’m specifically talking about. I love my old(er) cover copy (i know it’s not the original, original but it was released in 2007 so it’s old) and was slightly upset when they released the new cover. I know it’s to tie into the glass series, but i still preferred the old covers

1. City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

city of bonesold city of bones

I know lots of people like the new covers, however i was a really big fan of the original covers and was upset to see them change to this.

————–

If anyone has any disagreements or comments let me know! Just to clarify these thoughts are my personal views and i mean no harm by stating these, if i have angered anyone i am sorry and that was not my intention.

What are your top ten this week?

Follow on Bloglovin

Thanks for reading,

1D987DF0C488577E6501D894E9834C24

19 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (10)

    1. Yeah, too many of my series have different covers and then the books are different sizes and it just looks a bit funny, thanks for stopping back here! 🙂

  1. I like your list, but I don’t consider a lot of your choices redesigns, just comparison between the UK/US versions. This is my first visit to your blog so I didn’t realize you live in the UK until I popped over to your contact tab. I will admit, though, sometimes I do prefer foreign editions to US ones. Half Price Books, my local bookstore, carries a lot of UK stock, oddly enough, and they’re all really pretty.

    TTT @ Mary Had a Little Book Blog

    1. Oops, maybe i should have done a bit more research and for that i am sorry then. And yay, i don’t quite understand why they have to print different covers in different countries, i do like it when they produce lots of good designs, but more often than not they produce quite a few bad ones which is sad. Thanks for stopping by and letting me know about my mistake 🙂

    1. I have a paperback of the old city of bones and hardbacks of all the other new ones and it’s a funny look! And that’s fair enough, good even if it encourages people to pick up the awesomeness that is Poison Study 🙂

  2. Interesting picks. I prefer cover 2 of Night School and Vampire Academy, but soome are pointless, like Uglies and Slated. As for Divergent, cover 2 is UK cover, and I don’t get why UK has to have different ones, always :X It’s odd.
    And I didn’t know about the blue City of Bones! Definite improvement in the new ones.

    Happy reading!

    1. I realise know that most people didn’t like the VA covers but i think i just grew to like them because that’s how they were when i started reading the books, and i liked to books. Oops sorry i didn’t realise it was the UK cover, i much prefer the US versions then. The only reason i even knew about the blue version was owning it and then being confused when i could only find City of Ashes in the other cover. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  3. I got all the red covers of VA and I kind of like them on my shelf, at least more than the original ones. And the original covers of TMI series were so much better than the ones now, I don’t like these at all.
    I also nominated you for the Liebster Award. For more information check out my blog.

    1. I think my main issue with the red covers is just that it messed up my shelf and made it look weird, nothing against the actual covers themselves. And yay 🙂 i’m just not a big fan of the bodies they use and thought/still think it looks a bit strange. And ooh thank you, i’ll go and check it out!

  4. I think you’re the first person I’ve met who actually prefers the old VA covers! And I agree with you about the Divergent covers – I don’t like the redesigns at all. And I actually like the new cover for Poison Study – I’d pick that one up before the old cover. Maybe it’s because I like nondescript covers without people on them? That’s something I’ve discovered today – people on covers is weird for me.

    1. I think it’s more of what they represent, i adored those books and when i read them, they were the covers that were there so when i see those covers i remember how much i enjoyed them. Yes to divergent 🙂 and i think i like people on the covers, which is probably a bit strange and why i prefer some of them, for example Poison Study. But can completely understand why some people prefer their covers peopleless 🙂 Thanks for stopping by 🙂

Leave a Reply

