Author Interview · Blog Tours

Blog Tour – Supernova by Elizabeth Sharp (Author Interview and Giveaway)

Supernova is a new series written by Elizabeth Sharp, i was a fan of her Forces of Nature Series, you can see me review of book 1 here. So definitely wanted to take part in this tour and get a chance to talk with Elizabeth! Also how pretty is the cover! Definitely something i’d pick up, hopefully i’ll post a review of the book sometime in the near future! 🙂

supernovacover

Synopsis:

“On Cleo’s first day at St. Aloysius Gonzaga Academy, things get pretty weird pretty fast. After being confronted by a strangely hostile boy, she meets two girls and instantly bonds with them. Before long danger threatens the entire student body, in the form of a soul eating possessor fae. When her brother is savagely beaten and left in a coma, the girls decide to use their fae powers to become superheroes and stop the possessions.
They quickly learn things are a lot more complicated than they had ever imagined. A government plot that had begun when they were infants endangers them all, and a demented former soldier bent on revenge is after them. The line between friend and foe has become so blurry, Cleo has no idea who she can trust. Will their superhero plot help them save the day, or just get them killed?”
Release date: October 4th 2013
Self-Published
Purchase: Amazon
**Interview with Elizabeth Sharp**
Personal Section
Right to start off with, why don’t you tell us something strange about you?
One of my nicknames is Angel because in my first driver’s license photo I was glowing.

What is your funniest memory?

I really can’t think of anything off the top of my head. Is that terrible or what?
I have read that you design the covers of your own books, is this something you enjoy doing?
I love art, and making book covers. For a time I wasn’t sure whether I would choose covers or art if I had to. There is something so fulfilling about making something beautiful and sharing it with the world.
What were you doing earlier today?
Reformating the Forces of Nature Paperbacks and rewatching Leverage (not at the same time.)
What is your favourite book to pick up and read?
That’s a toughie. Picking a favorite book is like asking a mother to pick a favorite child (though I can honestly say I have a favorite of those since I only have one). I’m torn between Adam Kunz’s One Tiny Secret and Kristina Circelli’s Fragile Creatures, which I was so privileged to get to beta read. Supernova Section

What made you decide to use Fae in this book? How much research did you have to do?

I chose to use fae because I loved the idea of all the supernatural beings being different classes within the same species. I did a lot of research before realizing most of what I was finding wasn’t going to work. Usually I love to work within the existing lore, but really the only thing I used from what I found was the vulnerability to iron.
Who is your personal favourite character from the series and why?
To explain that, we should put the next question first. Since Supernova was my costume, I like her the best.
What gave you the idea for the series? And then how much did that idea change from the beginning to being published?
Supernova started as my best friend’s Halloween costume, believe it or not. After watching Kick-Ass, she decided to create her own superhero (Scarlet Rage). I thought it was such a fun idea I jumped on board and created my own hero. (I’ll attach a photo of use dressed up as them, or at least with the masks and hair…) One day we were coming up with our powers and I laughed and told her Scarlet Rage sounded like a vampire. A light kind of went off and it snowballed from there. The only thing that really changed was the costume itself got an upgrade.
What are you working on now Supernova is finished?
I’m currently working on a trilogy that explores a lover triangle, with each book from a different character’s point of view. The first book is complete and the second is about a quarter of the way done. I plan to release the first one in the spring.Author Section

I’ve read some of your Natural Selection series and i’ve got to say i’m definitely a fan, what gave you the idea to start with?

Natural Selection is the result of three ideas colliding. I started a story in high school where I created the Hoffman family. I loved them, but the story kind of sucked. After a few years, I started toying with an idea of working with Mother Nature, but nothing ever came of it. Finally after reading Racheal Vincent’s Soul Screamers, I thought, “What if Mother Nature had no idea who she really was?” Suddenly all three ideas slammed together and Natural Selection was born. 🙂
Any writing tips for new authors?
Write because you love it, and do it as often as you can. And surround yourself with supportive people, who will give you good advice, pep you up when you’re down and wipe your tears when you just wanna cry.
It’s currently November and therefore National Novel Writing Month is this something you’ve participated in and is it something you’d recommend people to participate in? If not then what are your opinions on this aim to write a novel in a month?
I am not participating because I will be traveling the last week of November. I tried to join in two years ago but had to have surgery early in the month, so had to spend the rest of the month recovering. I’m all for it as an experience, but I really wish authors would spend more time editing and polishing afterwards. Just cause you wrote it in a month doesn’t mean it’s ready to go after another…
Is there anything you like to do when writing? For example, have the music on or off, specific writing place etc.
I definitely have a writing ritual, but it changes over time. Currently, though, I open Facebook, then Word. In a second tab, I pull up Pandora, where my current station was started with the artist Lyndsey Stirling, a dubstep violinist who exudes awesome. With the tunes going, I generally try to get other authors to write with me, because I have the attention span of a cocker spaniel hopped up on Mountain Dew.If someone is up to sprint, we work twenty minutes then chat a few and repeat. If I can’t get someone, I try to stick with the format anyway, though I probably spend far less than twenty minutes writing before goofing off. I also chew a lot of gum when I write. Not sure why.
Thank you so much Elizabeth, it was great having you and being able to ask you all the questions! 🙂
*About the Author*
elizabethsharp
Elizabeth has a near crippling Facebook addiction, dwarfed only by her need for Dr. Pepper. A self-proclaimed techno geek, she loves cell phones, computers, tablets and all things technological. The internet has to be the greatest invention since the wheel, in her opinion. She lives in a quiet subdivision with her husband, one-year-old son, three cats, and far too many electronics. It’s quite possible she has some raccoon in her DNA, because she loves glitter and anything that sparkles. She enjoys making jewelry and costumes. Halloween is her favorite holiday since it’s the one day of the year that you can be whatever you want. But her first love will always be writing. Otherwise, hearing voices in her head would make her feel schizophrenic.
*Giveaway*
There is a tour-wide giveaway for a paperback copy of the book (US only) and an e-book copy (open INTL), if you feel like entering then go ahead and good luck! 🙂
Follow on Bloglovin
Thanks for reading,
1D987DF0C488577E6501D894E9834C24
One thought on “Blog Tour – Supernova by Elizabeth Sharp (Author Interview and Giveaway)

Leave a Reply

