Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday (16)

top ten tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a Weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, where each week a topic is given and we have to reply with ten answers.

This Week’s Question: Top Ten Things On My Reading Wishlist (if you could make authors write about these things you would. Could be a specific type of character, an issue tackled, a time period, a certain plot, etc.)

Heya, so i’m back from my little break and settled back into uni life. Hope everyone has had a great January so far and am definitely looking forward to getting to know people better! So this week’s question was really nice and thought inspiring, i mean, there are obviously lots of ideas for what we want to read but it’s nice to sit down and really think about them! So with that i give you my top ten:

10. Different Cultures

Most books i read nowadays are either dystopians and therefore set in an alternate kind of world, or books that are set in either the UK or US. It would be great to see more books appearing in other continents like Asia and Africa. There’s definitely a lot of potential and it would be interesting to see how the author spins the countries.

9. Books from a Male PoV

I know that there are books out there being told from a male perspective, but i would say that over 95% of the books i read are told in the female’s pov. It would be great to see more of these appearing!

8. Dragons

I want to see more books that involve dragons, they are awesome and since Eragon they seem to have been disappearing from the map. (Correct me if i’m wrong). I just think that a new book with a dragon as a major character or even just involved in the story would be very much welcomed!

7. Books from the Villians PoV

This would be awesome. Period.

6. Schools/ College

I love to read stories that involve school or college, especially since the UK and US systems are so different. It’s really interesting to get a feel for other countries routines (even if they are over-exaggerated to make it into a story) and would love to see more and more of these.

5. Unreliable Narrators

I haven’t read any books that follow this pattern, but it could potentially be amazing. If your being deceived about how the entire story is happening, i definitely want to read a good version of one of these and potentially lots more!

4. More Scientifically Correct Sci-Fi’s

Being a scientist and self proclaimed geek i love to read a good sci-fi now and again. However it really irritates me when the science behind the book isn’t even slightly plausible and sometimes just downright wrong. That being said there are also quite a few great ones around, so more of these please.

3. Not just the same Dystopian

When i first started reading dystopians i was so excited for the prospect of a new genre to branch into and read about. Also just the general theme behind it seems awesome, however after a fair few reads i started to realise that a lot of these books have very similar storylines that are just told slightly differently. I would love to read more original dystopians that are different to what we already have.

2. Good  Vampire Books

Ok this is going to sound strange, but i absolutely love stories about vampires. However ever since Twilight there hasn’t been any vampire stories that i’ve needed to read, they just seem to have gone downhill. Vampires are definitely one of my favourite sub-genres and i would love to see a re-emergence of good tales back into the market.

1. Mythology

I absolutely love mythology and find it fascinating so it would be great to see some incorporation into more stories and even retellings of some of the more famous myths. Please 🙂

What are your top ten this week?

Follow on Bloglovin

Thanks for reading,

1D987DF0C488577E6501D894E9834C24

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (16)

  1. Villain’s POV!!! That would be awesome. I actually read a book like that recently and didn’t know until the end, because the revelation was the actual twist (and I cannot tell you the title because that would spoil it all) and I loved it!
    Different cultures, too, sounds awesome! Same for mythology. I love it and I need to get more books about it. 🙂
    Happy reading!

    1. Yay, am happy you agree! I must search for this book now because it definitely sounds like something i would want to read. Thank for stopping by and commenting! 🙂

  2. Wow, we have many in common and I totally agree with the others! I agree with dystopias and with more science in sci-fi genre! I love unreliable narrators, I’ve just recently read Gone Girl, and it had a really nice twist 🙂 I think there’s quite a lot dragon stories out there, but I’d still like to see (and read) more of them. I’m one of those who haven’t given up on vampires, too, they were just over-used, like dystopia nowadays, but I think they’ll come back sooner or later 🙂 Great list!

    1. Right, Gone Girl is now on my list. I haven’t read any stories like that and really, really want to so thats for letting me know! And there may be lots of dragon stories out there but i am finding it harder and harder to come across a good one nowadays 🙂 Thanks for stopping by and commenting! 🙂

  3. This post has just made me realize how much I want to read a book from the villain’s PoV. That sounds awesome! And there definitely don’t seem to be as many dragons around at the moment in books, so it’d be nice seeing some more.

    I totally agree with the mythology too. I’d love to see some other mythologies apart from Greek and Roman in books, like Celtic and Egyptian.

    My TTT: http://igamogam.wordpress.com/2014/01/21/top-ten-tuesday-8/

    1. Haha thanks 🙂 I really want to read one too, if i find a good one i’ll let you know! Thanks for stopping by and commenting! 🙂

  4. Amazing list! I love male POVs and wish there were more books that had them – I also love books that use a male and female POV. I love dystopian but have read so much of it that they all kind of seem the same, I’d love something a little more unique. 100% agree that a book from a villains POV would be AMAZING. Great picks 🙂

    My TTT 🙂

    1. Ooh, male and female PoV. I didn’t think about that but it sure sounds good 🙂 Thanks for stopping by and commenting! 🙂

  5. I’d like books with more mythology, too. I like the Greek and Roman gods, but I read Loki’s Wolves and that opened me up to the world of Norse Mythology. I also like stuff that includes Native American gods, especially Coyote.

    1. Ooh, i haven’t read Loki’s Wolves but may have to check it out, thanks for bringing it to my attention! Thanks for stopping by and commenting! 🙂

Leave a Reply

