Author Interview

Author Interview – Rachael Wade

So Today i have something very exciting so share with you all! I was recently given the opportunity to do an interview with Rachael and jumped at the chance. I participated in her Preservation series book tour last year (can be found here) and am participating in The Replacement tour on the 4th February so was really glad to ask her about her work. Right so onto the interview, to try and avoid confusion my questions will be bolded and blue and Rachael’s answer will be in normal font. 

First and Foremost, how are you doing today?
  Nervous – The Replacement releases tomorrow – but good, thanks!
Tell us a bit about yourself. 


 I’m from Orlando, FL and I live with my husband and 5 fur babies (1 dog and 4 cats). I’m a huge movie buff, an avid Brandi Carlile fan, and I love all things Tim Burton.

When and why did you decided to start writing?
 I’ve been writing since I was a kid, mostly poetry and song lyrics, and I was always obsessed with storytelling in film. I saw my first Tim Burton movie in 1st or 2nd grade and I knew then that I wanted to be a storyteller someday. But I did many other things before realizing I could pursue writing as an actual career. I never thought it could really be a job.
What are you reading at the moment?
I’m reading classics right now. Nicholas Nickleby by Charles Dickens and Les Miserables.
What do you do when your not reading or writing?
I love live music, so I go to concerts whenever I can. I also read a lot, watch tons of indie films, and I love being outdoors. I try to spend time outside as much as possible.
Now onto some questions more focused on The Replacement and your other works. 
 
What came first for The Replacement, the plot or Eliza? Or did they just come about together?
Elise came first. Her name and her character just popped in my head and she spawned the idea for the plot. All of my stuff is very character driven, so the characters always seem to come first. They evolve and develop as the story develops, but they always seem to dictate where the story goes.
If you could be any character from any of your books, who would you be and why?
Oh wow, that’s such a hard question! I think I’d like to be Kate Parker from the Preservation series because I like how her story ended. I’d love to be where she is at the end of Declaration.
Was there anything in the book that you wanted to happen differently, but the story wouldn’t let you?
Yes, but I can’t really say because it’s a major spoiler. It has to do with the ending, though. I originally wanted one of the main characters to be with Elise during an important scene, but it couldn’t happen. It would have changed the entire story and the outcome wouldn’t have been as strong as it needed to be.
You seem to cover quite a few “taboo” areas, with Eliza describing herself as the town whore in The Replacement and The Student/Teacher relationship in Preservation. Is there any reason you choose to write about these sort of topics?
Not really. I’m drawn to bold characters and I love stories that are daring, so I think those themes just appeal to me. I like to write about dysfunctional characters. It’s really cathartic for me.
I love your cover designs! Who do you use? 
Thank you! I love them, too. I’m really picky about them and have very specific visuals in my mind for each story, so I come up with the concepts and then and my cover design Robin Ludwig designs them. She’s fantastic and I’d recommend her to anyone.
Now onto a bit more about Writing in General. 
 
Where do most of your writing ideas come from?
I write what I know. I haven’t experienced everything my characters have, but most of my stories hit really close to home because I draw from a lot of real-life stuff. I’m also inspired by nature, traveling, and a lot of music and film. I get my best ideas listening to film soundtracks and watching indie films, or while taking walks or traveling. I love to people watch, especially in airports.
How long, in general, does it take you to finish writing a book?
It really depends on how the story is developing, the world building (I write sci-fi and fantasy too, and that requires a lot more outlining), and what else I have going on project wise at the time. Sometimes a month, sometimes 3 or 4. On average, I seem to finish in 2 – 3 months.
If you could have had one piece of advice when you were starting looking into publishing, what would it be? 
Don’t burn yourself out. Be sure to challenge yourself, but set realistic goals and know that building a back list and growing as a writer takes time. Take breaks.
What are you working on at the moment?
Restitution, book 2 of The Keepers Trilogy, a New Adult sci-fi series.
Is there anything else you would like to add that i haven’t included?
Thanks so much for having me today! You had some great questions. 🙂 Oh, and The Replacement, my new release, is on Amazon, B&N, or Smashwords – only $0.99 for release day.
Thank you so much for taking the time to answer my questions and i wish you the best of luck with all your future work!
Thank you, Sanna! It was an honor to chat with you.
—–
Aww, i love Rachael, both her and her Personal Assistant Cathy, have been wonderful to work with and i’m definitely going to continue reading her books in the future!
So now for the links that will take you to the wonderful land of Rachael Wade:
Also, in case you want to check out more about The Replacement i’ll leave some information below.
the replacement
Synopsis:
“*Contains sexually explicit content and mature subject matter, including language and elements of abuse.*A gritty New Adult drama about a young woman’s self-destructive quest to find purpose, self-worth, and love in a broken world.

My name is Elise Duchamp. I’m twenty-three years old and I’m known as the town whore.

No, not the kind who exchanges sexual favors for money. The other kind. The kind who gives it all away for free, whenever and however she likes. I am that girl. The one everyone whispers about and the one none of the girls seem to like, because all of their boyfriends either want to sleep with me or already have. Promiscuity is my thing—the kind that slowly, violently turns my insides black, but gives me something I need.

All things considered, I’m not completely reckless. I’m safe, and contrary to popular opinion, I do have a heart. I live in a world of careless choices, and with those choices come careless people. I cannot judge them, because I am one of them. I too bow down to the altar of the self-serving. I am not a good friend. I am not and never could be anyone’s girlfriend. I’m convinced any goodness in me shriveled up and died long ago.

But I am a replacement. That is something I know how to be, and this is a story of the lengths I’d go to in order to keep it that way.”

The Replacement is for sale now at Amazon and B&N so go and get your copy today!!

Follow on Bloglovin

Thanks for reading,

1D987DF0C488577E6501D894E9834C24

4 thoughts on “Author Interview – Rachael Wade

    1. Sorry for the late reply and i hope it did too and that’s exciting. I love learning about authors that are from somewhere either close or local to me 🙂

Leave a Reply

