Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday (27)

top ten tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a Weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, where each week a topic is given and we have to reply with ten answers.

This Week’s Question: Top Ten Books for Readers Who Like Fairy Tale Retellings

This was a hard one, mainly just picking which genre to focus on. I’ve previously done a Top Ten for YA and High Fantasy so didn’t want to repeat those, however i wanted to do  genre that i felt comfortable with. One that i knew enough books that i would recommend to people, Instead of just putting anything up. Also anything that lets me unleash my Alice in Wonderland retellings is good for me, theres only a few in here…

So here’s my top ten fairy tale retellings books:

10. Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

throne of glass

As if i needed another reason to love Throne of Glass, i recently found out that the idea behind the story was based on a Cinderella retelling. I am therefore saying it counts for this list.

9. Wicked by Gregory Maguire

Wicked

I loved some of Gregory Maguire’s retellings and they are probably what really got me into retellings in the first place. I read Wicked before it turned into the musical and i thought it was a really clever way at looking at the story and turning it around. I’d definitely recommend checking out Wicked and some of his other books if you haven’t already!

8. Cinder by Marissa Meyer

cinder

Cinder was interesting, unfortunately i didn’t enjoy it as much as i hoped. However this list would not be complete without it and i know lots of people who absolutely adored this book and series!

7. Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson

tiger lily

This book made me cry…i don’t cry. I loved the new perspective on Peter Pan and would highly recommend this book to anyone. Even if your not the biggest fan of retellings this book reads extremely well and your left wondering what has happened and why.

6. A Long, Long Sleep by Anna Sheehan

a long long sleep

This is another book that made me cry, a sleeping beauty retelling set in a futuristic world. I don’t want to say anymore, but please check this one out!

Alice in Wonderland Retellings

So i’ll most likely love Alice in Wonderland retellings just because of what they are, however below are my top 5 Alice retellings.

5. Alice in Zombieland by Gena Showalter

alice in zombieland

It has zombies, no more needs to be said.

4. Kingdom Series by Marie Hall

her mad hatter

First of all, this series is for more mature readers as can probably be seen from the cover. I was actually less keen on first book in this series, which so happens to be the Alice retelling, however love the series as a whole. I’d say definitely give it a try!

3. Death of the Mad Hatter by Sarah J. Pepper

 death of the mad hatter

This book completely encompassed all of the madness that wonderland has to offer and thats what makes it so special. It really shows you the insanity and i absolutely adored this book so please check it out.

2. Insanity by Cameron Jace

Insanity

It starts off in an insane asylum, and then theres a serial killer. That plus wonderland? We have a winner! Definitely worth a look, plus the cover is gorgeous 🙂

1. Splintered by A.G. Howard

Splintered

Nothing more needs to be said.


What are your top ten this week?

Follow on Bloglovin

Thanks for reading,

1d987df0c488577e6501d894e9834c24

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (27)

  1. Hi Sanna, I love a good fairytale retelling and yet I’ve only read Cinder and Splintered from your list!! I will be chasing down the others you have here. 🙂 Have you read the whole Splintered Series yet? If so what did you think?

    Happy Reading
    Ms4Tune @ Paein-and-ms4tune.co.uk

    1. I love fairytale retellings as well and tried to pick less obvious ones. If you do chase others down please let me know what you think of them. I’ve currently only read Splintered and Unhinged (both of which i loved) because i sent my copy of Ensnared home instead of to uni when i ordered it. I’m heading back next week though and i’m sure i’ll of remedied not reading it soon! Thanks for stopping by 🙂

    1. That’s fair enough, i found the rest of the series much better than her Mad Hatter and would definitely try and give the other books a go if you can. They’re recommended in order but can also be read as standalones. Let me know if you do try any of the others!

    1. Haha thank you! I love a pretty cover and that can influence my reading decisions sometimes. However all of these are here because i enjoyed the story as well as the cover. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

